Inside AOCS

Calls for nominations

ALTON E. BAILEY AWARD

The North Central Section of AOCS is requesting written nominations from Society members for the 1979-80 Alton E. Bailey Award. The purpose of the Bailey Award is to recognize research and/or service in the field of fats and oils. The nomination should contain at least five pertinent references or contributions in the field of oils, fats, waxes, etc. Some of the past Bailey Award winners are: V.C. Mehlenbacher, 1959; R.H. Potts, 1960; J.C. Cowan, 1961; A.R. Baldwin, 1963; T.P. Hilditch, 1965; D. Swern, 1966; W.O. Lundberg, 1967; H.J. Dutton, 1968; H.S. Olcott, 1969; H.E. Carter, 1970; J.F. Mead, 1971; R.T. Holman, 1972; C.M. Gooding, 1973; S.S. Chang, 1974; W.M. Cochran, 1975; Raymond Reiser, 1976; L.A. Goldblatt, 1977; O.S. Privett, 1978; R.O. Feuge, 1979; Frank Norris, 1980; Hans Kaunitz, 1981.

Please send nominations to the Alton E. Bailey Award Chairman, George W. Bregar, 374 Munroe Circle, Des Plaines, Illinois 60016. The deadline for nominations is December 15, 1981, and notification of the selection will appear in this journal. The presentation of the Bailey Award is scheduled for early 1982.

Deadline: December 15, 1981

AWARD IN LIPID CHEMISTRY

In April 1964, the Governing Board of the American Oil Chemists' Society established an Award in Lipid Chemistry under the sponsorship of the Applied Science Laboratories, Inc., State College, PA. Previous awards were presented as follows: Erich Baer, 1964; Ernest Klenk, 1965; H.E. Carter, 1966; Sune Bergström, 1967; Daniel Swern, 1968; H.J. Dutton, 1969; E.P. Kennedy, 1970; E.S. Lutton, 1971; A.T. James, 1972; F.D. Gunstone, 1973; P.K. Stumpf, 1974; W.O. Lundberg, 1975; George Popjak, 1977; Ralph Holman, 1978; Stephen S. Chang, 1979; James F. Mead, 1980; Laurens van Deenen, 1981.

The award consists of \$2,500 accompanied by an appropriate certificate. It is planned that the eighteenth award will be presented at the AOCS Annual Meeting in Toronto, May 2-6, 1982.

Canvassing Committee Appointees

Policies and procedures governing the selection of award winners have been set by the AOCS Governing Board. An Award Nomination Canvassing Committee is appointed; chairman is Earl G. Hammond. The function of this committee is to solicit nominations for the eighteenth award. Selection of the award winner will be made by the Award Committee, whose membership will remain anonymous.

Rules

The rules prescribe that nominees will have been responsible for the accomplishment of original research in lipid chemistry and must have presented the results thereof

through publication of technical papers of high quality. Preference will be given to individuals who are actively associated with research in lipid chemistry and who have made fundamental discoveries that affect a large segment of the lipid field. For award purposes, the term "lipid chemistry" is considered to embrace all aspects of the chemistry and biochemistry of fatty acids, of naturally occurring and synthetic compounds and derivatives of fatty acids, and of compounds that are related to fatty acids metabolically or occur naturally in close association with fatty acids or derivatives thereof. The award will be made without regard for national origin, race, color, creed, or sex.

Letters of nomination together with supporting documents must be submitted in octuplicate to Earl G. Hammond, Department of Food Technology, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011, USA, before the deadline of November 1, 1981. The supporting documents will consist of professional biographical data, including a summary of the nominee's research accomplishments, a list of his publications, the degrees he holds, together with the names of the granting institutions, and the positions held during his professional career. There is no requirement that either the nominator or the nominee be a member of the American Oil Chemists' Society. In addition, letters from at least three other scientists supporting the nomination must be submitted in octuplicate.

Remember the deadline: November 1, 1981

North Central Section to meet Sept. 15

The North Central Section's first meeting this fall will be Tuesday, Sept. 15, at Neilsen's Restaurant, 7330 North Ave., Elmwood Park, Illinois, and will be a combined meeting with the local chapter of the American Association of Candy Technologists.

The candy technologists' group is in charge of program arrangements.

Reservations may be made with North Central Section treasurer Arthur A. Schmitz at Armak Company in McCook, Illinois. There will be a social hour followed by dinner and then the speaker.

Officers for the program besides Schmitz will be Jack Suriano, EMI Corporation, president; Neil R. Widlak, Kraft Inc., vice-president; and Tim Mounts, USDA Northern Regional Research Center; Peter Noznick, Beatrice Foods Co., and William Doeden, Swift & Co., members-atlarge of the board of officers.

NORCAL fall session Sept. 11-13

The Northern California (NORCAL) section of the AOCS will hold a weekend session Sept. 11-13, 1981.

The technical portion of the meeting will involve a visit to Geo-Thermal Foods in Fernley to see new developments in geyser-powered vegetable dehydration. The social portion will include an overnight visit in Nevada.